Rohr invites 24-man squad for the AFCON qualifiers

Rohr invites 24-man squad for the AFCON qualifiers

Rohr, Super Eagles head coach has completed the list of players to be invited for the AFCON qualifiers and the Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) has released the 24-man list reports.

The list was released for this month AFCON encounter with Benin Republic and Lesotho.

Super Eagles are the table toppers of Group E with eight points from four games. They are ahead Benin Republic with a point, their closest rival.

Nigeria, Super Eagles will be facing Benin Republic, Squirrels away from home at the Stade Charles de Gaulle in Porto Novo and afterwards Lesotho at the Teslim Balogun Stadium in Lagos, three days after.

The little surprise in the list includes red hot Sadiq Umar of Almeria, who has been scoring and assisting in his league. Also included is Eyinmba goalie, John Noble.

The list also witness a return call for midfielder, Abdullahi Shehu. Nigerian highest goal scorer in Europe, Paul Onuachu is surprisingly on standby list alongside Daniel Akpeyi, a longtime goalkeeper of the Super Eagles.

Full List of invited players:

Goalkeepers: Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands); Francis Uzoho (APOEL Nicosia, Cyprus); John Noble (Eyinmba, Nigeria)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Fulham FC, England); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Tyrone Ebuehi (FC Twente, Netherlands)

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Galatasaray, Turkey); ; Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Abdullahi Shehu (Omonia Nicosia, Cyprus); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Semilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Not Attached); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Samuel Kalu (FC Bordeaux, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain).

Standby: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray, Turkey); Terem Moffi (Lorient, France); Adeleke; Olise; Peter Olayinka (Slavia Prague, Czech Republic).

Rohr will hope to qualify for the Africa Cup of Nations with these set of players with a game to spare if possible.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *